Skip to content

Code Name: Secret Project. (We’ve never been good at code names.)

24 March 2011

So, I got the first chapter of my super-secret, pre-Tweet-Book-6 project written last night. This is the first thing in a long while I’m writing with a partner, and that’s an interesting experience.

I remember reading way back about how Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett wrote Good Omens together on a couple of very old computers sitting right across from each other. That’s the image that’s stuck in my mind about the collaborative writing process ever since, though I’ve mostly done it over the Internet with people I might or might not have actually met in MeatSpace.

Working with another writer (or two, or three, or seven) is always fun, because I feel like they force me to up my game a bit. I’m not a competitive person at all in real life, but I always want someone to read something I wrote and say “that’s cool,” or something similar. With a writing partner, that feedback is usually immediate, so you get that instant check on what you’re writing (and if it works at all).

What about you, folks? Ever done collaborative art with another person? (As opposed to collaborative art with yourself, I guess.) What did you dig about it? What did you hate?

UPDATE: Would you like to know more? My buddy Joe Peacock knows tons more. Read his fantastic post over at his blog today.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 March 2011 1217

    I collaborated three times, the first two projects falling on the wayside due to differing timezones and real-life biting me in the butt several times over. The last one was a complete disaster, as the collaborator reworked everything because she opinioned that her version was better than mine – and changing the setting from sunny Africa to freezing Russia, and adding more characters that I had a hard time writing for.

    There had been some good moments, of course. There is nothing more enjoyable than sharing the process of creating a universe and a set of characters with another person. I think for me it was the ability to have someone I could bounce ideas about. The only bummer of course if the other writer comes in half way through the project.

    • 25 March 2011 0726

      Ah, that’s never fun. But you’re right — there are some good sides to it, and it’s often quite helpful to bounce ideas off a co-author and immediately get some feedback.

      • 25 March 2011 1356

        One collaboration was successful however, but with my own time constraints I had been forced to stop. Having said that, the other author still wanted to credit me but I firmly said ‘no’, as I felt that he did a large chunk of the work. I was happy just being bouncing board for ideas. Anyways, he’s planning of plonking it on Amazon soon.

  2. 24 March 2011 1901

    I’ve written with a few truly amazing, yet unsung, authors. Some of my first ever writing was done with a co-author (waaayyyy back in 86) đŸ˜‰
    When I think of co-authors I always think of Weis and Hickman, lol

  3. 25 March 2011 0106

    Thanks for sharing! I’ve found myself very much looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

