Skip to content

Living in a Shotgun Shack

25 October 2012

If you were able to travel back in time, or bring a previous version of yourself forward in time (Bewitched style), do you think you’d get along with your younger self?

Example: I’m 34. If I was to bring forward the 19-year-old version of myself forward to 2012, I don’t think we’d want to hang out. There’s only 15 years difference between the two of us (and let’s not forget, we are the exact same person), but I don’t feel I have enough in common with that person anymore to put up with him for any length of time.

And I’m pretty sure he’d feel the same way about me.

Chuck Fight Club (I don’t feel like trying to spell his last name — it’s early and I’m on my first cup of coffee) once said something to the effect of no one should write a novel until age 33. The reasoning there was that anyone younger didn’t have enough life experience to write anything that could resonate. And while I don’t necessarily agree, I understand — I’d hate to have to read what I would have written at 19.

So what about you? Do you and 15-years-ago you get along?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 25 October 2012 2208

    I would (since current me is 45). And I’m still married to the same woman. The only familial difference for me the 30 year old me still has both parents alive, All his siblings too (My Mom passed away in 2000, my Dad in 2001, and I lost my 2nd oldest brother a year ago – On the 11th anniversary of our Mom’s death).

    This do make a MAJOR change in your essence (When your Dad passes its your first kick in the nuts that reminds you that YOU ARE GOING TO DIE SOMEDAY).

Leave a Reply

