Skip to content

Catch-up. Catsup? Ketchup?

2 December 2013

I think this might be the longest I’ve gone without blogging.

It wasn’t a planned thing, this break from blogging — I just got Busy with The Many Things, and blogging kept taking a backseat until it was left at a rest stop near Flagstaff.

20131202-115327.jpg

My world in the last few weeks has been a non-stop stream of day-job work, editing, podcasting, and video production. Well, it was until the Thanksgiving holiday hit — then I just shut down for four straight days and got hardly anything productive done. And I think that’s a good thing.

It’s not a bad place to be in, the state of constantly being busy, especially if you like (or are passionate about) the things that are keeping you busy. There are worse places to be than having a whole bunch of cool shit you want to do (and not enough time to do it in). I could be bored, or creatively bereft, or grinding away at a job I hate. I’m not any of those things, and I’m thankful. I’m thankful for all the cool shit I do that keeps me busy, holds me to about four hours of sleep a night (on average).

But you can’t run at full-bore all the time. No matter how enthusiastic you are, how in love with the work you might be, you have to take a bit of time to recharge. Hard chargers are great, but without some kind of downtime, they burn out.

This all might be an excuse for watching a Cheaters marathon with my wife yesterday… but meh. At least I feel rested.

What did you do with the long weekend (those of you who had one)? And what do you do to recharge, to keep from burning out?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 December 2013 1052

    We took it easy, visited a cave, and I did some podcasting (and shot a video) with this Shawn guy I know. There was also downtime…plenty of it in between all the cracks.

    I usually stay pretty busy, but the days of 4 hours of sleep a night are loooooong behind me. 6-8 keeps me going.

    • 2 December 2013 1130

      I try to get at least six. Some nights, I even GET six hours. But most nights… no.

      There are only so many hours in the day, and I need them to plan out sport-coat/t-shirt combos.

Leave a Reply

