Skip to content

On being an old man

19 November 2013

Somehow, early Monday morning, I managed to tear up the muscles and nerves in my neck and left shoulder. The damage hasn’t rendered that side of my body useless or anything, but it did require a trip to the hospital and the liberal application of pharmaceuticals.

I injured myself in my sleep badly enough to have to go to the hospital. These are problems I thought I wouldn’t have to deal with until I was, say, 65 or so. Sitting in the waiting room Monday morning, I felt like an old man, like a senior citizen who blows out his joints doing nothing at all.

Kind of fitting, then, that Christopher Gronlund’s novella Old Man would release not 24 hours after I left the hospital.

20131119-140215.jpg

I felt like an old man yesterday; but Phil Johnson, the novella’s protagonist, does more than feel like an old man. He does more than act like one. He becomes an old man, all in an attempt to better get to know his dying grandfather.

I love this story for so many reasons, not the least of which is the many times it flirts with genius. The first time I read it, I didn’t even look at it with an eye towards editing — and I do that with everything I read. And when I finally did sit down to edit it? It was the easiest edit I ever had to do. A missed comma here, a skipped word there. I didn’t change a word of the story, because it’s damn close to perfect.

I’m proud as hell to run a publishing company that gets to release something like this into the world. And you can get it now at Amazon.

Don’t worry if you missed that link — I’ll be talking about Old Man a lot in the coming weeks… because it’s that damn good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

