Skip to content

Internet Starvation

14 June 2013

Note: I’m still pretty jetlagged — I tried to open my office door (which uses a key card) with my car keys this morning — so apologies if this entry doesn’t make a ton of sense.

I just got back from Europe last night, and while the trip was fun, Internet connectivity was spotty at best while I was abroad. I’d get access for three hours, then be unable to connect for three days. If you’re friends with me on Facebook, you can probably easily put together a plot of my Internet windows.

Not having a reliable line to the web taught me a few things. One: I’m extremely addicted to my iPhone. As Europe doesn’t have CDMA, either, the thing functioned mostly as a camera, but otherwise, it was a semi-expensive brick. Still, I had it with me 24/7.

Two: at least in the short term, not having access to the Internet really doesn’t affect my quality of life. I started to see my five minutes of Internet connectivity as kind of a treat, rather than the obsessive-compulsive obligation I realize it’s become when I have always-on access. When I’m connected, I feel the need to check Facebook several times a day… but when I’m in Internet Starvation mode, I actually kind of enjoy checking in every so often to see what my pals are up to.

Sure, there were a few places where I felt like I needed a connection — paying a few bills, checking in on my dogs. Apart from that, though, my life was fine with about six hours of connectivity a week.

It also helped that the scenery was pretty great:

20130614-124622.jpg

20130614-124649.jpg

20130614-124712.jpg

What about you? Is there something you were sure you couldn’t live without until you didn’t have it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 14 June 2013 2015

    A good handful of years ago, my wife and I were watching TV when…CLICK. That was it, with a CLICK the TV was dead. We wanted to replace it with a larger flat screen anyway, so why not save?

    Funny thing: people had issues with us not just buying a TV right away. “Get a small, regular TV and save…” But I liked not having a TV; I liked not paying for cable. We went something like a year without a TV before my mom, who really thought is was crazy that we didn’t have a TV, “bought a TV” for herself that just-so-happened to be too large for her little table where she had her TV. She insisted we take it; we finally did. (She really DID buy it for us, but knew we wouldn’t just take it.)

    About the time our apartment forced all units to buy cable so they could offer good rates, we got a flat screen. We tend to watch more YouTube and Netflix than actual TV. But it’s nice. Sometimes, though, I miss the daydream of setting up a nice little bar where the TV now lives. I could make it without TV…

Leave a Reply

