Skip to content

April Foo– you know what? I’m gonna go take a nap.

1 April 2013

Yes, it’s the first day of April. That means it’s 80 degrees in Texas, the sun is out, and I have pranked absolutely nobody.

Don’t get me wrong — in my youth, I was quite the fan of the random pranking. I once gave a friend a bag of used cat litter for… some reason. I’m sure it was funny at the time. (OK, not for the friend who opened the bag and started immediately digging around inside barehanded, but still.)

But there came a point in my life when I turned my back on April Fool’s Day. I don’t think it had so much to do with age — I know people older than me who still do something to mark the day every year (my pal Joe Peacock hooked me with one earlier today), and I don’t see the practice as juvenile or stupid. One year, I just stopped.

I remember telling myself it was because people expected it on April Fool’s Day, and that if I was going to pull a prank, it was going to be on a random day at some other point in the year, just so I could catch my victims off-guard. But I stopped the random prankings, as well. I settled into a mostly prankless life, content with appreciating other people’s pranks, but not feeling the need to pull any of my own. It’s not that I hate fun, or even the idea of a day devoted to pranking… in fact, I’m not sure what it is. Maybe I’m just too lazy to pull off pranks anymore.

So, in lieu of a prank today, I shared a six-minute video clip of Worf from Star Trek: The Next Generation getting shut down. Because, let’s face it, for a hardcore Klingon Warrior, he got the shit kicked out of him by some embarrasing people: a 65-year-old Admiral, Deanna Troi, a Ferengi… it wasn’t great to be Worf for a solid several years on the Enterprise.

20130401-144857.jpg

What about you, folks? What’s your stance on April Fool’s Day? What’s the best prank you’ve ever pulled? What’s the best that’s ever been pulled on you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 1 April 2013 1305

    I don’t really get too into April 1 and pranks. I don’t know why; I think because I can be goofy and tend toward humor in my interactions, people expect it from me. That, and I’m not such a fan at doing things at the expense of others.

    Pranks done on me: I suppose it was when I still lived at home, during one of my return trips between living on my own in college and moving back home. My mom came in after work, saw me, and said, “Oh, you’re home…”

    I said, “Yeah…Why?”

    “Well I didn’t see your truck.”

    “What?!”

    I looked, and sure enough…my truck was nowhere to be seen. I freaked! It was only when I was reaching for the phone to call the police that my mom said “April Fool’s!” and told me she had my spare key and drove my truck a block over and hid it so she could pull off the prank in style. She once did something even more cruel to my poor sister…

Leave a Reply

