Skip to content

We are resolved.

2 January 2013

I’m not usually one to make resolutions, at least not terribly specific ones. I think I mumbled something last year about “being better about the gym” before gaining a bunch of weight. I might have mentioned quitting smoking, like I have every New Year since I started smoking — difference is, I managed to actually quit about halfway through this year.

I also did eventually get better about the gym, even if “eventually” was early December. I’ve only been going for about three weeks, but I am starting to notice some changes. I’ve gone from German Bus Driver to 1950s Semi-pro wrestler (back when they didn’t really have to be in shape). I’m doing cardio that would have killed me three weeks ago. So, progress.

But this year? I was kind of stuck for resolutions. I don’t drink. I don’t smoke anymore. I’m not even considering giving up coffee. I’m already back at the gym. What’s left?

Then I realized the perfect resolution, and it’s this: Stop making excuses.

When I want to do something, when I have an idea… this year I’m moving straight to “getting it done.”

No “I’ll start on this after…”

No “I want to do this, but I won’t have time until…”

None of that. Have an idea? Put it in motion. Want to do something? Get started now.

What about you, folks? What did you resolve this year? How’s it going so far?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 January 2013 0616

    You’ve inspired me, Shawn. This year, I resolve to complete my application to the Procrastinator’s Club.
    Next year, I’ll stop making procrastination jokes.

  2. 2 January 2013 0637

    I didn’t make any resolutions; like you, I ended up getting back to old [good] habits here and there throughout the year. I suppose if I had to make a resolution, it would be “Remember” — and by that, I mean, “Remember when you did this and that and how it was routine?” So…getting back to more tennis and juggling and other “healthy” things that are also fun to me. Just that memory of being busy and having fun. I was productive last year, but with a job change and some other stuff, some of the good routine fell to the side, so…just remembering how easy it all was and getting back to that.

    I guess the only real new thing would be: podcasting.

Leave a Reply

