Skip to content

The End of All Things (for zero values of “all”)

21 December 2012

When I woke up this morning, I was surprised not to see this:

TFW1G

And by surprised, I mean not at all surprised. In fact, I was finishing up my morning shave before I remembered the world was supposed to end today, even though I put together a couple hundred words about it on Monday. Mornings aren’t the clearest time for me, mentally.

Now that I’ve had the chance to wake up (read: 32 ounces of coffee), I’ve done a quick pass at the news web sites… and I gotta say, world, so far, I’m pretty impressed. There’s been a noticeable lack of insanity in the news. No suicide cults. No looting sprees. No riots in the streets. No earthquakes and plagues of zombies (or, at least, no guys holed up in a shed with automatic weapons claiming there’s a plague of zombies). So far, the world seems to be keeping its head.

But what if today, while not the end of the world, is a chance to start a new one?

That’s my plan. Instead of making New Year’s Resolutions this year, I’m making New World Resolutions. I’m going to do the things I’ve been meaning to do for years now, but felt I never had the time. I’m going to find the time. I’m going to keep on it at the gym. I’m going to be nicer to people, even when they get on my nerves.

And starting now, I’m going to say thank you to all of you who come visit and read my stuff. So thank you for continuing to give my words a home here on the Internet! I’ll see you back here sometime next week.

After all, we’ve survived a pretend apocalypse together!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 December 2012 0637

    You haven’t seen new england. Its 9:37 AM and pitch freaking dark outside !

    Its raining and just plain RAW.

    I could see this being confused for the apocalypse.

    • 21 December 2012 0645

      D’oh! That mini-apocalypse was supposed to hit New Jersey! I apologize. 😉

  2. 21 December 2012 0649

    We’re definitely thinking along the same lines about the day. Being the skeptic I am, there’s never been a worry about end times predicted by mad men or ancient civilizations (that really didn’t say the world was going to end). I figure if I have to live with people, I may as well make the most of their quirkier sides. So…while I never believed anything bad would happen, I may as well have fun and make the most of it. I’ve already been looking at my time since Thanksgiving as a head start at a new year. With a week off ahead of me, I planned to make this approaching week a good start for some things; it just happened to fall on the day it was all supposed to end, according to some.

    So yep, make the most of it. Have fun. That’s my plan. I hope to make 2013 a quiet year. By that, I mean not getting wrapped up in things. Being around the people who inspire me to strive for making cool things and stepping back from those who demand attention, but conveniently step away when others need it. Above all, I want 2013 to be a year of being too busy making things to get caught up in other things that don’t matter as much to me.

    It’s definitely looking like a better year than 2012, and I have no real gripes about the year that almost was.

Leave a Reply

