Skip to content

Sun Worship

12 March 2012

That's either the sun, or a huge EMP is about to fuck up our shit.

It’s a beautiful day in the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex. OK, it’s a beautiful day in one, specific Dallas inner subburb — the entire area is so large that I can’t guarantee the weather is this nice everywhere.

I’m one of those people who can’t stand the cold. Even though I was born in South Dakota (not known for its sandy beaches) and lived in New Hampshire, Colorado, and Nebraska growing up (among other places, but all of the ones listed have terrible winters), I never really got used to the cold. I would much rather be out in the heat than the cold.

I’m the kind of guy who goes to Las Vegas in the middle of August. Or the kind who drives around without air conditioning in the Texas summer (almost 100 days above 100 degrees last summer). There’s something about the heat that’s preferable to me — even intense heat isn’t that bad. But really, anything above 70 works, as long as the sun is out.

It’s odd, because I sleep better in the daytime than I do at night, but I love sunny days nonetheless. On days like those, I might not get much work done… but my brain works much better than on cold days.

What about you, folks? Do environmental factors play a huge role in your creativity? Or am I just insane? (The second answer would not shock me.)

__________________________________________________________________

Hey! Wanna win some cool stuff for the release of Supercritical, the second 47 Echo book? Here’s how.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 March 2012 1240

    I am your opposite. When the cool weather of fall hits (called late November in Texas!), I love writing more than any other time of the year. The warmest it should ever be, as far as I’m concerned, is 70-75 degrees…with a breeze if it’s 75. Maybe even some scattered clouds.

    I must admit, though, that my tolerance for heat has increased. I think in ways that I tolerate heat more than just plain old cold. But I prefer cooler weather. On the rare snow days in Texas, you will see me outside, running around like a little kid. When it’s hot, I can deal with it, but I’m not happy about it.

  2. 13 March 2012 0344

    I’m not sure if weather affects my creativity. I think I’m as productive in the winter as in the summer. I haven’t really studied the matter though.

    Like you, however, I much prefer the heat to the cold, and I really hate the cold when I can’t find a way to get warm. Even the office is cold: cold in the winter and too air-conditioned in the summer.

Leave a Reply

