Skip to content

The Internet is The Real World

7 March 2012

This is the third in a series of three linked posts.
______________________________________________________________

Huh. Turns out it really IS a series of tubes. Whaddya know.

So, which is it? Is the Internet awesome, like I said on Monday? Or is it a wretched hive of scum and villainy, as I said on Tuesday? Well, the thing is… it’s all of that. And it’s more. The Internet is exactly like the real world.

The real world has good people and bad people, and a whole bunch of folks that fill out all of the spaces in between “good” and “bad.” The real world has philanthropy and horrible crime, and so does the Internet. Fortunes are made and lost, people go to work, people watch TV… all of this happens both in the real world and online. You can draw whatever parallels tickle you.

With the proliferation of smartphones, most of us spend a good chunk of our time straddling both worlds — real and online — without even realizing it. I would venture to go so far as to say that I spend more time in the online world, all told, than I do in the real world… and I don’t think I’m one of the few who does so.

As a man much wiser than me once said: “Das Leben ist wie ein Abflusskanal — Man kriegt daraus was Man hineintut.” (For those of you without access to my awesome high school German teacher: “Life is like a sewer — what you get out of it depends on what you put into it.”)

So is there a lesson here? A moral to this story? Not so much. I’m not Captain Has-His-Shit-Together. I’ve got no business giving anyone lessons, providing story morals to anyone. Personally, I come down on the side of thinking the Internet is a great thing, but any and all points of view on it are equally valid to me… just like they are in the real world.

There are no lessons here. No absolutes. Only points of view, and these last three posts have been my point of view.

So, tell me… what’s yours?
__________________________________________________________________

Hey! Wanna win some cool stuff for the release of Supercritical, the second 47 Echo book? Here’s how.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 7 March 2012 0825

    Like you, I see the Internet as great and not-so-great. More great than anything, though. Like anything loud, if you listen to the annoying element, it’s easy to think that’s the bulk of the Internet–even though it really isn’t.

    The opportunities the Internet affords are wonderful. I’ve heard some complain that there’s a higher saturation that hurts some, but a system based on exclusivity isn’t good (e.g., I’ve heard writers say publishers should publish LESS, so those already in the system make more…and according to them, people being able to do their own thing has destroyed publishing as we know it by tossing in so many options to choose from). Even though I understand their concerns, the person standing in the flood shouting, “Hey, stop!” drowns.

    Granted, I would know you without the Internet, but I knew OF you before you moved to Texas because I saw 47 Echo reviewed on The Nerdist. I’ve met some great people online, and because of that, when I travel, I am never alone; I’m always able to say, “Hey, so and so (who I met online), I’m in your town–wanna get a bite to eat?” The connections I’ve made online have largely been great.

    Of course, I love being able to see people in real life. But I live in a big area that’s spread wide, so it’s not like I can just say, “Hey, want to get a drink after work?” when I live north of Ft. Worth and I have friends on the SE side of Dallas. So being able to stay in touch online is nice.

Leave a Reply

