Skip to content

Not really a market flood, that.

28 February 2012

If ebooks had hit the mainstream in the late 80s, we probably would have had about two hundred e-readers available for sale. You could’ve gotten a cheap, kid-friendly Tiger one, or a really slick, expensive Sony, or a mid-priced Sansui.

If they’d hit big in the 1990s, Microsoft probably would have made one. It would have been about as good as WebTV, but it would have existed.

Nowadays, we have mainly the Apple iPad, the Kindle Fire, and the Nook. Sure, you can argue that there are others, but none with the market penetration of those three. The closest is the Sony Reader, which I like, but I don’t think is burning up the sales charts.

So, what are the benefits of one versus another? I have an iPad (Lisa’s) and a Kindle Fire and a Sony Reader. I have to say I dig the Fire most for reading, the iPad for video, and the Reader for not much (but it’s old).

Which one do you use? And why?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 February 2012 1250

    My wife has a plain old Kindle and I have a Kindle Fire. (Some guy at work who looks an awful lot like you recommended it.) I love e-ink, but being able to read when the lights are out gives the Fire an edge for me. That, and I can watch freebie videos that come with Amazon Prime on it when I can’t sleep, but don’t feel like reading.

    I still love the thought of a dedicated e-reader like the ordinary Kindle. No, “Hey, I’ll check Facebook,” or other things like that. You sit down with a light source and read–and that’s nice. I’ve found, though, that when I’m reading on the Fire, that’s all I do. When I’ve used the Kindle iPhone app, I’ve always jumped to other things. Not so with the Fire.

    I’m quite a fan of e-books. Even more now that I have a dedicated reader.

    • 28 February 2012 1304

      That guy. Always recommending stuff. He thinks he knows *everything.*

      I, too, find myself reading more often than not on the Fire. The Sony has e-ink, and it’s fine… but the backlight on the Fire is great, and books just look gorgeous on it.

  2. 28 February 2012 1400

    My wife has an iPad that I’ve never been able to read from. I’ve tried, but for some reason I just can’t sustain my interest. (Great for Solitaire, though.) I also have a two-year-old Kindle, and I have read a half dozen books on it. Seems like a more “natural” reading experience to me. I can’t say why, and it may sit idly on my desk for months before I pick it up again.

    • 28 February 2012 1450

      To me, the Kindle just feels more “book-like.”

      I prefer reading comics on the iPad, though. Maybe it comes down to something as simple as size?

  3. 29 February 2012 1604

    I have a orphan device, it’s called the ENtourage Pocket Edge and it’s a book-shaped dual-screen device, Eink on one side, Android tablet on the other. Stylus, I can actually sign pdf docs on the eink side and email them as attachments, etc.

    Got it off Woot, it’s only upgradable to Android 2.2, but it’s pretty cool, battery life is 4-6 hours, has IR pad on the right which lets me swipe to turn pages using the kindle app on the tablet side.

    It’s a pressure sensitive, not capacitive? touchscreen so no multitouch, no accelerator in it so some apps won’t work on it at all. Overall, it’s interesting and quirky and awesome for my needs.

Leave a Reply

