Skip to content

Long Haul Writing

20 February 2012

Last night was one of those nights I haven’t had in a while — one where I did nothing but write (and a bit of research) from about 10 p.m. until 6 the next morning. I put up a pretty decent word count — 5500 words on one project, about 1000 on another. They’re the kinds of nights I wish I had more often.

Of course, I wouldn’t have been able to put in that amount of work if I had to work today. I try to get a bit done every night, but on weekends (especially long weekends), I know I don’t have to be up early the next day, and I can really hit a groove.

These are the kinds of nights where I feel like I could write novels for a living. And that would be great, if someone wanted to pay me for them. But these long-haul nights often turn out to be some of my best work, and I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s because I get to focus on nothing else but putting together a good story.

Or, who knows. Might be aliens.

When do you do your best work? What conditions do you consider ideal?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 February 2012 1251

    Like you, I can get a lot done during a late night. Or when I wake up and have at it before the day job. When it’s quiet with no possibility of distractions, I can focus and write and write and write.

    This weekend, I did more reading than writing. Still, because it was a long weekend, I got some writing in as well. A good word count for me is 2500 words, with 500 – 1000 more likely. Done regularly enough, though, it adds up. (And when you factor in blogging and other writing, the daily count is usually well over 2500 words.)

    I’m glad it was a good weekend for you. I wish we had one more day, now that I’m done reading some stuff I needed to get to. I’d love an all-nighter dedicated to writing, but I can think of worse ways to spend a weekend than hanging out and getting a lot of reading and some writing in.

  2. 20 February 2012 1819

    My conditions are similar but different. Rather than stay up late, I get up early. I’ve risen at 1:30 a.m. to begin a five-hour writing session. These invariably prove productive.

Leave a Reply

