Skip to content

Confessions of a Night Owl

30 December 2011

Not this guy. I have a different codpiece.

I’ve been working an overnight-type schedule lately, even moreso than usual. Normally, I work during the day (at the aptly named day job), then spend some time eating and hanging out with my wife, then plunge into the other job for several hours after she goes to sleep. But with edits for the second 47 Echo book coming in and a couple of days of use-it-or-lose-it vacation to burn, I’ve decided to transition over to nights for about a week to get some stuff done.

And so far, it’s working out pretty well. I have several hours when the house is quiet and the rest of the neighborhood is asleep to crank up some music (in my headphones), plug myself into one of the various machines sitting around the home office, and write and edit. Sure, I haven’t seen “morning” for the last three days (well, at least not from the side I usually do, when I wake up before noon), but that’s a small price to pay for getting a bunch of work done.

If I had a preference, I think I would switch over to working nights completely. It wouldn’t be a big change, and it would actually give me more time to get stuff done — my wife is usually awake and gone for work by the time I get up anyway, so it’s not like I’d be losing time with her there. All of that normal errand crap that needs to get done every day? That’s what noon-5pm would be for. Then, I’d get to have a nice, normal dinner, hang out with the wife for a couple of hours, and go work a full day on whatever project I’m currently behind on.

Of course, I haven’t figured out how to get paid to do that yet. That’s my only snag.

What about you, folks? When do you find yourself most productive?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 30 December 2011 1909

    Like you, late at night works. Or early in the morning.

    I think I’ve done my best writing when I’ve woken from dreams at 3 or 4 in the morning and ended up getting up to write.

    But late nights, when my wife does to bed early, work as well.

    Music, a still world, and the glow of my monitor are what ends up leading to the best writing I’ve ever done. I wish you well as you stay up late writing in 2012!

Leave a Reply

