Skip to content

Like IKEA, but for books

23 December 2011

As I mentioned earlier, my wife Lisa got me a Kindle Fire for Christmas this year. Yeah, we’re terrible about opening presents early. OK, to be more accurate, my wife is terrible about it, and I’m a terrible joiner. Anyway…

I’ll go on record and admit that I like IKEA. I dig the furniture, I dig being able to eat mass quantities while I’m there, and I just like walking around. When we’re at IKEA, Lisa and I usually spend more than we plan to, basically because stuff is just so inexpensive that we keep adding everything we see to our big yellow bag/three shopping carts and a flat. I’ve never really bought much from the Amazon bookstore before the fire, but I’m definitely noticing an IKEA effect as I do.

I was browsing around in the sci-fi section last night and came across a book that looked slightly interesting. Eh, it’s only a buck, I thought, and clicked the “purchase” button. That continued for about 45 minutes… and now I have a bunch of reading ahead of me.

I don’t see this as a bad thing at all. Oh, sure, it’s not healthy for my bank account, but any time you get new books, it’s a win. And it’s also a win for authors, I suspect — I’d be willing to bet a fair number of e-book sales, especially the inexpensive ones, happen exactly as they did for me last night. And I know authors get a bigger piece of the digital royalties than they do for print (a much bigger piece, folks), so it’s kind of a win-win for everyone.

Well, except my bank account.

So how about you, folks? Discovered anything interesting or fairly horrible while browsing your favorite e-book marketplace? Got any recommendations? Any definite avoids?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

