Skip to content

When in doubt, hit somebody.

9 December 2011

One of the blogs I follow did a post on tackling writer’s block. It was a great post, and I suggest you read it if you’ve ever had writer’s block. I’ve always found it interesting how other people handle problems like this, as my own solution is almost childishly simple (and possibly a bit childish).

I kind of take the same approach to writer’s block as I do to almost everything else in my life. I call it the Brawler’s Approach — just put your head down and start hammering away. Can’t think of anything to write? Doesn’t matter. Just start swinging. Got a huge deadline at work? Just clench your hands into fist, square your shoulders, and start pounding on it. That’s what works for me, and I’m not telling anyone how to run their lives, creatively or professionally.

The problem with telling someone how to write (which I will point out, in case you didn’t read the Athele Series post linked above, Kaitlin didn’t do) is that everyone’s process is unique to them. I can suggest that you try brawling on it, but that might not work for you. Kaitlin can suggest that you listen to music or drink a ton of coffee, but that might not work either… but the only way you’ll know that is to try.

I suppose what I’m trying to say here is you can’t let writer’s block stop you from writing. You have to start throwing things against the wall, even if you haven’t figured out how to beat writer’s block just yet. Go for a run. Get away from the computer for a half an hour. Or throw yourself at the screen even harder and brawl through. Just… don’t be content with saying, “Oh, I have writer’s block.” Don’t just leave it at that.

Be like a shark, folks. Keep swimming. 😉

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 December 2011 1108

    Good stuff!

  2. 9 December 2011 1615

    Thanks for the link and the kind words! I love love love the idea of brawling – I guess that’s kind of like putting on your galoshes and wading in (except with a rocky theme song in the back ground?)

Leave a Reply

