Skip to content

Getting back to it

24 October 2011

It’s really not going to shock any of you that I didn’t write much last week, mainly because most of what I write is out in the open, and y’all didn’t see much of that stuff last week. The reasons are, unfortunately, personal, but suffice it to say I didn’t feel like doing much of anything since Tuesday night, and that included writing.

I still don’t feel like doing much of anything, but I have to get back to writing sometime, and I suppose tonight is as good a night as any. Besides, I promised I’d finish up the current Twitter Novel project this month, and no matter what, I will.

Of course, six days is not the longest I’ve ever gone without writing. At one point, I went nearly a decade without finishing anything. I’d love to blame writer’s block, but the first couple of years of non-production was due to drinking, and the next several, laziness. I’ve tried to make up for it with an insane production schedule since about February 2009, and I think I’ve done all right — I’ve completed eight books in that time, and you folks have seen five of them. The current Twitter Novel will bring that to nine.

So, question for today — what’s the longest you’ve gone without pursuing your art (writing, painting, photography, film, etc.)? What was the reason you fell off the horse? How did you eventually get back into it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 October 2011 1936

    I’ve gone a decade too. Mostly out of the fear if I started and failed it’d be over. As a dream I could talk about becoming a writer and what I’d do without having to show and prove.

  2. 25 October 2011 0615

    I went a few years without any real production during a time I cared for an ill relative and then taking care of a health issue of my own. During that time, I still wrote short stories and other things, but production on novels became sporadic.

    Since I started writing novels, my average output is a book every few years; in large part, due to the times I’ve only been able to focus on shorter things. It’s something I’d like to increase, but I don’t knock myself for the times I didn’t write as much as I wanted. Looking at those times, while I wasn’t writing novels, I was still producing other things.

Leave a Reply

