Skip to content

The Liquid Diet, Day 11

3 October 2011

Though you may not have noticed this time (there was less general bitching on Facebook and Twitter), I had another surgery on Friday. Thankfully, this is the last one I should have to have for quite a while, so I consider that a win. But on the other side of the coin, I won’t be able to eat solid food for a while. And I haven’t been able since the first surgery 11 days ago.

So I’ve been on protein shakes and, when I can manage it, yogurt and applesauce for the last week and a half or so. I’m like I kid I knew in high school, except without the steroids that took up a third of that guy’s fridge. And while the liquid diet has helped me quit caffeine and cigarettes (probably due to the massive amounts of water I’m putting down), I do miss solid food.

Though it does remind me of a lot of the horrible science fiction from the 50s, where people were sure we’d one day ingest all of our necessary nutrition through pills. It was one of those things I called BS on even as a kid, but from the many different examples of it in literature and film, a bunch of people really believed that was the way we were headed.

So the question for today, folks, is what is the silliest widespread sci-fi trope you’ve seen? Pill-food? Personal helicopters for everyone? Aliens with slightly messed-up ears or noses? (Admit it, Star Trek, you got pretty damn lazy for a while there.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nate permalink
    3 October 2011 0908

    I’ve always figured aliens would probably be more like Horta, Tribbles, Tholians, or Odo, and less like Romulans or Klingons.

    Although, in TNG’s defense, I’m pretty sure there was an ep in which the Enterprise raced against the Klingons, Romulans, Cardassians, and maybe the Ferengi to uncover some ancient alien tech only to find out that it was basically a recording of an unremarkable alien indicating that it was their common ancestor. Hence all the bipeds.

    But then, I recall another TNG ep, in which the crew of the Enterprise started to de-evolve. The humans all started turning into apes whatever, while Worf started turning into some kind of serptentine, acid spitting dragon thing. Not much resembling a common ancestor.

    Troi turned into a Deep One, though.

  2. 4 October 2011 0942

    I don’t know if it’s a silly trope but the brain implants are pretty popular. At the rate new technology comes out it’s doubtful folks would want to have brain surgery every other year.

    Like @Nate I don’t believe there’d be so many humanoid aliens either. That’s what made Octavia Butler great. Her aliens gave you the heebie jeebies. Have you read Bloodchild? YEESH!

Leave a Reply

