Skip to content

Proper Care and Feeding of Your Writer

29 September 2011

So, some of you write. That’s the easy part.

But some of you live with writers. That’s the tough part. Most writers I know have at least some of the following habits:

  • Terrible diet
  • Irritability
  • Insomnia
  • Lack of focus
  • Tunnel vision (which would seem to be at odds with lack of focus, but sadly, no)
  • Self-importance
  • Borderline tourette’s
  • Apparent laziness

My wife deals well with all of these things, mostly by ignoring them (and I try to save them for when I’m writing and she’s asleep).

How about you, folks? How do you deal with the general writer-ish-ness of your roommate/spouse/significant other? Did I miss anything on the list?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 September 2011 0523

    You forgot “Inability to tell time”….especially when working a project, and “strange pursuits they wave off by calling it *research*”. And, in my case, a collecting problem, lol

  2. 5 October 2011 0744

    I’m lucky. My wife is an artist, so she doesn’t mind that my mind is someplace else and I hole up for long periods of away from the world. Because she’s done the same.

    I’m generally pretty normal these days. I’ve come to recognize the importance of doing other things than writing all the time. I’m not too cranky or neurotic, but there are still those times I know that if I don’t get out almost daily that I can become like Bigfoot: this fuzzy creature that is rarely seen.

    I definitely fight against the urge to totally retreat from everything and see just how much of a life of solitude I can live!

Leave a Reply

