Skip to content

The Golden Age of TV Sci-Fi

21 September 2011

So, I’ve been pretty busy with the day-job work these past three days, though I don’t expect that to be the norm. While working, though, I’ve occasionally had Netflix on in the background (hey, if I’m going to work 14 hours a day, I’m at least going to watch some TV). Recently, I’ve been re-watching old X-Files episodes.

You know, I don’t think they actually made a bad episode of that show. Sure, some were way better than others, and some seemed to veer horribly off topic, but they were all infinitely watchable. And sometimes, that’s all a show needs.

But X-Files had something more than watchability — it had great characters, great writing, and, most importantly, a bunch of people with raging OCD at the helm. One of the things that made the show so great was that characters followed logical paths of development, and never did something out of character just because a writer felt like making them do it. This allowed the writing to be almost invisible, and allowed viewers to focus on the characters and the situations rather than the people behind the scenes.

So, what other shows have you seen where the creators did a great job of handling character development over multiple seasons? I’m of course only nominating seasons 1-7 of the X-Files.

Obviously.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 September 2011 1626

    Buffy. One of the only shows I enjoyed that WENT multiple seasons…..

  2. 21 September 2011 2014

    I have to nominate Babylon 5 (5 seasons). And I think that Crusade could have been pretty good too!

  3. 21 September 2011 2126

    Both B5 and Buffy were on around the same time as X-Files, and I agree with both. It truly was a golden age…

Leave a Reply

