Skip to content

Adventures in No-Budget Filmmaking

25 July 2011

So, I watched a movie called “God of Vampires” last night, for no other reason that it was in my Netflix queue. I don’t remember why I put it there, but meh. I’ll watch damn near anything.

Anyway, this movie was seriously low budget, which is always a bit of a hurdle for an action movie. Still, it had an interesting storyline and decent writing, so it was pretty watchable overall.

It reminded me, though, of films I made back in the late 90s and early 2000s. We had a budget that went entirely to DV cameras, fuel, and sometimes lunch. We got local metal bands to do the soundtracks. Production design and sound design were merely theory most of the time. Actors were people we knew who weren’t doing anything that day.

Still, it was a lot of fun, even when I spent days in editing. We even came up with some watchable stuff now and again. But I’m kind of glad we did it back when we did — if I’d done those films today, I probably would have put them out on the web. And I doubt many people would be as forgiving of their amateurish nature as I was with “God of Vampires.”

It’s odd that the face of distribution has changed so much in ten years. That begs the question — where will we be ten years from now?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 July 2011 1000

    I’m thinking that anyone will be able to post their own full length movies and people WILL watch and leave “tips” for payment. And they’ll actually make a reasonable amount of money. Enough to do their “art” without starving.

    With PC software being able to do special effects, people will be able to do a pretty decent movie.

    “Star Wreck in the Pirkinning” is great example of what people can do. The effects in it are pretty good. Beats the snot outta the old 70s Doctor Who episodes.

    • 25 July 2011 1211

      I think that’s pretty accurate, actually. I also wouldn’t be surprised if the online distribution model cuts a big chunk out of the traditional film business.

      • 25 July 2011 1243

        My big fear is that they’re going to be doing ONLY Digital distribution of media in the future and one huge EMP burst and AALL of human histor

Leave a Reply

