Skip to content

200 Miles of Rough Road

20 July 2011

What I have technically isn’t insomnia. It’s not that I can’t sleep, it’s just that it’s tough for me to sleep at night. I can sleep just fine when the sun is up, which I don’t, as I work during the day. Sleeping when my body wants me to would limit my career options to jobs that come with a jumpsuit and a lot of cleaning supplies.

Still, I’ve managed to find a block of about four hours, from 3 a.m. to 7 a.m., where I can usually catch some shuteye if certain conditions are met, but it’s still pretty easy to keep me awake during that block. One of the dogs snoring? I’m not getting to sleep.

These last few days have been like that. I’ve gotten almost no uninterrupted sleep lately, and I’m looking pretty rough as a result (rougher than usual, even). And I’ve got that Ed-Norton-in-the-beginning-of-Fight-Club kind of feeling today, where everything is surreal and muted. My legs feel tired for no reason. I’m pushing coffee like mad, but it doesn’t taste right (that might be due to a couple of bad pots at work).

But still… I could have it worse. Days like this make me realize how good I actually have it. No one’s shooting at me today. I don’t have to hunt for food. I don’t have to deal with the elements. My being a bit tired and rough today won’t impact my ability to survive in any way.

So, if you’re having a rough day and you’re reading this, chin up. You’ve got access to the Internet, so life can’t be too bad.

Now, where’s my coffee?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 21 July 2011 1241

    Got internet, sure… but my motorised wheelchair’s left motor stuffed up on me yesterday, Means I’m housebound until it gets fixed.

Leave a Reply

