Skip to content

Revise, Revise, Revise

17 May 2011

So, I’m looking at a pile of revisions for a couple of different projects. The hardest part of revision for me isn’t changing the words, or coming up with new ideas. It’s getting up the motivation to get started.

See, when I finish writing a story, I’m generally finished with it. I might go through and do a few edits before I let anyone see it, but when I send it off for people to read, I’m usually pretty comfortable with it. When publisher or agent revisions come back, I often get confused.

But it’s done, I think. I finished it a few weeks ago.

I’d much rather write a sequel, or something completely new, than go back and make changes to something that’s floated over to the “done” category in my brain. It’s just strange for me to pull something out of that category and put it back into the “work in progress” category. I’ll do it, obviously, but starting revisions is my least favorite part of the process.

What about you, my writer friends? Got a secret for getting through revisions? What’s your least favorite part of the writing process?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nate permalink
    17 May 2011 0900

    When people ask me for revisions, I tell them that they’re adopted and that I don’t like them.

  2. 17 May 2011 1326

    The revisions, feel like it’s a constant draft story.

  3. 19 May 2011 0428

    I always try to hand my revisions off to someone else. Which reminds me…Nate, you busy??? 😛

    • 19 May 2011 0438

      I’ve got time, revising my own… be happy to swap…

      • 19 May 2011 1647

        I was being a wisenheimer Piotr but thanks. I haven’t written much in a while….

Leave a Reply

