Skip to content

The Fall of Sam Axe

19 April 2011

So, while my Internet connection was holding steady last night (read: for approximately 22 minutes), I started watching the Burn Notice TV movie The Fall of Sam Axe. For those of you who aren’t fans of the show (shame, that), Sam Axe is the former Navy SEAL played hilariously by none other than Bruce Campbell, humanity’s representation of all that is awesome and sarcastic.

The thing is, I can’t recommend this film to people who haven’t yet watched Burn Notice — and I see that as a good thing. Too often, I see movies trying to make themselves appeal to everyone, but that wasn’t the case with this movie. This one was for fans of the show and pretty much only fans of the show. It didn’t waste any time introducing the characters, as it assumed you were already familiar. In just the brief bit I watched before the Internet crapped out (two more weeks until I move and get a decent Internet solution. . .), there were already a couple of in-jokes and references you wouldn’t get if you were new to the series. I think it’s awesome that this was a movie made completely for the fans. The only other film I can think of that did something similar was Serenity, though that did have a bit of exposition. (Joss Whedon handled it well, though.)

What’s your favorite fan-aimed movie? Or did I just cover the only two?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sir Geek permalink
    19 April 2011 0927

    Does Direct to video count ? If so then the Babylon 5: The Lost Tales (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0871427/ ) would probably be a good one too. You’ll “enjoy” it if you don’t know B5, but you’ll understand MUCH more if you’re familiar with the show (i.e. the Centari, Technomages, etc.)

  2. 19 April 2011 0929

    Totally counts. And a decent movie besides. The Stargate direct-to-DVD movies (Ark of Truth and Continuum) probably count, too.

  3. 19 April 2011 1329

    I was a tad disappointed with the Babylon 5 direct to video movies, as I kind of hoped for more (bigger fan of the books). But Burn Notice was cool, didn’t know there was a movie… where can I find it?

    • 20 April 2011 0711

      I’m not sure if you can access it from outside the US, but check usanetworks.com and go to “watch full episodes.”

Leave a Reply

