Skip to content

Goin’ old school.

8 April 2011

I have SiriusXM in the car, which is one of those totally pointless yet totally awesome purchases I so love to make. I have my preset buttons filled with everything from Faction (Punk and Hip-Hop) to Death Metal to the Canadian Indie station, but I’ll admit it — I listen to the 90s station probably more than I should.

The reason for that is that it’s an instant time-warp back to my high school and early college days. Most of the songs they play were pretty popular back in the day (otherwise, why would they play them?), so even if I don’t like a particular song, I remember it. And that’s kind of cool in a very dorky, singing-along-with-US3 kind of way. But it did make me realize something:

I had some shitty taste in music when I was in high school.

For the most part, I didn’t start getting into music until college. Though most of my high school career, I basically listened to soundtracks from movies I thought were cool, and, as it turned out, I also had some shitty taste in movies. Therefore, it wasn’t uncommon for me to rock, say, 5-0, 5-0 from the Bad Boys soundtrack as I sped into the school parking lot.

So, this Friday, it’s time to confess. What kind of horrible music did you listen to in high school? Or, if you were cooler than me (it’s almost certain you were), what awesome music did you listen to?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 April 2011 0711

    I was another one of those people, Shawn, except mine were even worse… I loved (and still do) movies soundtracks! Everything from Braveheart and Last of the Mohicans to Fiddler on the Roof… Add to that my love of video game soundtracks and remixes (ocremix.org), classical, gospel, bluegrass, and southern/bluegrass gospel, and you have a complete musical nerd… Problem is (although I don’t really see it as a problem), I haven’t changed since high school… 🙂

    • 8 April 2011 0714

      Heh. It’s not really a problem, and even if it was, I couldn’t throw stones. I am, after all, the one who was bouncing around to House of Pain this morning (and realizing I know all the lyrics).

      Besides, your stuff was cooler than mine. 😉

  2. 8 April 2011 0726

    I, like most younger brothers, got into the music my older brother liked.

    Let’s put it this way, growing up, we were allowed to listen to Country or Oldies. So yeah, eventually we got into Rock. Nirvana, Cake, Crash Test Dummies, Green Jello (nee Jelly) but one of my first major purchases with my own money was a CRAIG Portable CD player with home and car adapter kit ($30).

    First two CDs I bought, upon my older Brother’s reccommendation were NOFX White Trash, Two Heebs, and a Bean, and The Suicide Machines Destruction by Definition.

    They sounded pretty sweet playing them in my brother’s 1983 Two-Door Mercury Grand Marquis with the factory 8-track player. We were running a portable CD player through the tape adapter through a tape-to-8-track adapter my dad (a new and used Lincoln/Mercury salesman) scored for us. It was the kind that the tape part stuck out of the 8-track slot as a tray and you pressed the tape down into it.

    All sorts of ghetto-fabulous. Back in the day, you used whatever WORKED. Custom stereos were just hitting for the rich boys and I knew no one with the $2000+ let alone my age with their own car.

    Of course later I went through every teen’s minor appreciation/obsession for RAP music phase, but have pretty much left that behind.

    Today, give me interesting words, brilliant lyrics, and clever turns of phrase. You can listen to my latest CD purchase (The Mountain Goats) here:
    http://www.npr.org/2011/02/27/134056034/first-listen-the-mountain-goats-all-eternals-deck

    Estate Sale Sign, and High Hawk Season are notable shiny gems.

    • 8 April 2011 0920

      Yeah, I listened to oldies almost exclusively growing up, from birth until about 1991. When I started picking my own music. . . well, it wasn’t as good as NOFX. It was Guns n’ Roses. /cringe

  3. 8 April 2011 1513

    guns and roses, bon jovi, meatloaf and any other head banging band I could get my hands on.

  4. 9 April 2011 1605

    all I remember is that “Far and away” song from that capoeira movie come cranking out of your room at all hours. Damn I hated that freaking song, lol

Leave a Reply

