Skip to content

One Hundred.

11 March 2011

Doesn’t seem like I’ve been blogging here that long, but here it is: post #100. Not that that’s such a momentous occasion, as I’ve managed to go well over 400 at the Twitter Novel Project Blog. But at a certain point, you stop and ask yourself why you’re putting so much out into the world. What do you expect to gain from it?

OK, you didn’t ask yourself that, but I do every once in a while.

My answer is pretty simple. I keep track of my page views, and every time someone who isn’t me reads a blog post, a short story, whatever, I feel like I’ve done my job for the day. A writer is someone who writes, of course, but what point is writing if nobody reads it? If I can hijack your brain for a couple of minutes every day, make you chuckle, make you think about something, or just give you something to pass the time while TweetDeck slowly loads (really, what is up with the load time on that thing?), that’s all I need out of putting in a bit of effort every day.

Well, that, and you could go buy 50 or 60 copies of 47 Echo. Just sayin’.

What about you, friends who write, friends who also blog? What’s your endgame? What do you get out of it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11 March 2011 1330

    I write generally for fun, and hope that people actually enjoy it. For me, if I have one follower who isn’t related to me, I’m happy. Currently my blog has 5. Wanna be my 6th Shawn, :D? If so, here’s the link http://piotr-runawaythoughts.blogspot.com/ hehe

Leave a Reply

