Skip to content

We are transmitting from the year 1-9-9-9. . .

9 March 2011

Twelve years ago today, I was living in an apartment with two other guys in LaVista, Nebraska. I’d like to think I was writing, but I probably wasn’t, at least not really. Not as much as I should have been, in any event.

At the time, I was working full-time and going to school full-time. I was also 20, relatively stupid, and had a tough time seeing things that were right in front of me.

Why do I bring this up? I was doing some edits last night and came across a character I’d written who I thought was similar to me at that age, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized he really wasn’t. I realized that I almost don’t remember what it was like being that young, having nothing to do and no responsibilities past school and a job a trained badger could have done just as well. It was a fun time, though. I do remember that.

Where were you this day in 1999? Or when you were 20?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 9 March 2011 0711

    I graduated H.S. in ’99. I remember that we had a full extra week off school when we were due back from Christmas break. Ice storms caused a level 3 snow emergency which meant the cops could arrest you for being out without a good excuse. I closed every night that week at McDonald’s which was my first job, of course. All the other fast food places around town closed, so we were the only ones open, so we never got to close early (there’s a certain dollar-amount-per-hour that if you hit it, you can call the main office and ask for permission to close).

    I remember driving my mom’s car, a 1983 Cavalier with an ’86 engine. I used to fly sideways into the semi-truck parking exit for a little fun, pre worktime. For 30-40′ before straightening out. Well, one day, I committed to the turn, and there was a semi coming down the lane! Got it over in plenty of time, but man did I used to thrash that car. The stereo had a ton of bass for being a crappy, stock GM unit if anything good was on the radio.

    I went & got my first mortgage when I was 20, so yeah, not a lot of ‘no responsibilities’ time in my past.

Leave a Reply

