Skip to content

Grammar Crimes

3 March 2011

It’s entirely possible that you, my friend, are a Grammar Nazi. You just might not know it.

Do you find yourself correcting horrible grammar you see on the Internet, even if you’re just doing it in your head? Because I’ll admit it. I do that all the time. But worse, I am also a Grammar Criminal (as I’ve come to realize now that I’m pounding through the second draft of 47 Echo 2). Here is a list of my offenses:

  • The em-dash: There’s proper use of the em-dash, and then there’s what I do. I use it all the time, in places where a new sentence is probably warranted.
  • Improper dialogue tags: Just ask my editor Rhonda about this one. Or, hell, check a few of the Goodreads reviews of 47 Echo. I tend to use words that don’t denote speech to indicate that someone is speaking.
  • Over-smirkage: Not so much a grammar crime as an overall writing crime, but I tend to have people smirk way too often. Something must be very amusing.

We are now in a punishment-free zone. Feel free to admit yoru crimes in the comments. Perhaps the Grammar Nazis will grant us clemency.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 March 2011 0802

    Great blog post! I am the same way! πŸ™‚

    • 4 March 2011 0852

      The thing is, you never realize it while you’re doing it, but when you go back to reread. . .

      • 4 March 2011 0921

        Oh, so true! I even try to be the “perfect writer,” when I’m texting! πŸ™‚

      • 4 March 2011 1021

        Text-speak doesn’t bother me as much as it does the average Grammar Nazi. I don’t use it, but I don’t freak out over it, either.

        That said, my best buddy (who is 33 years old) texts like a 14-year-old girl. It’s pretty hilarious.

  2. 3 March 2011 2337

    Well, I’m headed to google to see what the heck an em-dash is.

    • 4 March 2011 0851

      Nooooo! Don’t! Then you’ll use them like me! πŸ˜‰

  3. 6 March 2011 1905

    em-dash, smirk, tend to tell not show sometimes too…

Leave a Reply

