Skip to content

Thinking in binary

28 January 2011

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately.

Ever wonder at that phrase? Just how dumb it really is? Of course someone’s been doing a lot of thinking lately. It’s not like we can just shut off our brains when we want to and not do any thinking — we’re always thinking, even when we’re asleep. Comatose might be a different story.

Now, if you’ve been putting a lot of thought in a certain direction, like your work in progress, or the art project you’re working on, that makes sense. But just doing a lot of thinking? Nah, you’re doing the same amount you always do.

The older I get, the more Spock-like I become in my thought patterns. Things either are or aren’t — feeling one way or another about them doesn’t alter what’s going on. I’ve found that this is a double-edged sword, though. It makes it much easier for me to prioritize, get things done, see storylines more clearly and characters more vividly. . . but it’s gotten to the point where I’ve been thinking a lot about writing, and not much about anything else. All it took for me to realize this was turning on the news a few days ago and realizing I’ve been living in an unintentionally self-imposed media blackout for a couple of weeks.

So, this is just a long-winded way of saying don’t be too surprised if the blog strays away from writing and sci-fi topics in the next couple of days. I might see something interesting and want to talk about it, so fair warning.

That said, it’s Friday. My brain’s zombified. Anyone got anything interesting to share?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

