Skip to content

архангел

4 January 2011

I don’t get much into politics in my real, normal daily life, which is kind of funny considering where I work. But when writing 47 Echo (and the sequel, Supercritical), I had to do plenty of digging into international politics, especially those in Eastern Europe and Asia. If you’ve read the blurb, you might say, “yeah, obviously. It’s about a war with North Korea and China, and wars are all about politics.”

Or you might not say that, but whatever.

What I found really interesting, though, was Russian politics. I did some digging and found that Russia is only the Russia we think of today in some of the major cities (capitalist, democratic, free elections, McDonald’s, etc.). In the country, it’s still very much the USSR. Or, at least, it wants to be.

I found that there is a significant portion of the Russian populace that yearns for a return to “The Old Times,” or Stalinist Communism. They feel society was better as a whole back then, as there was no crime, no drug addiction, and everyone had jobs. But that kind of sentiment reminds me of a quote from Vladimir Putin: “Whoever does not miss the Soviet Union has no heart. Whoever wants it back has no brain.”

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, I’m a bit of a research nerd. I find the research part of writing almost as fun as the story crafting itself. What’s the coolest thing you’ve discovered while researching? What did you think was going to be interesting that turned out to be boring?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Trace permalink
    4 January 2011 0843

    Yeah, Russia is still a mess.

  2. Nate permalink
    4 January 2011 1309

    Putin is one of very few living global chief executives (current or former) that could dispatch an assailant with his bare hands. There may be others, but I’m not aware of them.

    • 4 January 2011 1313

      Oh, I bet Teddy Roosevelt could’ve started some shit.

      • 5 January 2011 1539

        I wouldn’t have fucked with Lincoln, either.

  3. 5 January 2011 1538

    you need any russian research just let me know…it WAS my minor….one of them….Russian Language and Culture….and I have a few…dozen…books on it, lol 😉

Leave a Reply

