Skip to content

She didn’t blind me with Geography, now, did she?

28 December 2010

It’s pretty safe to assume science-fiction writers and science-fiction fans maintain at least a passing interest in science. I mean, it is right there in the name of the genre, after all.

I don’t remember the exact moment I got into science, but it was always around. Really, there were piles of it just sitting around the house. Dad was a meteorologist. My brother was an aerospace nerd. I was into astronomy and chemistry. Science was everywhere, but it’s everywhere in the real world if you just want to look.

And this is why I love a lot of the stuff that’s on Discovery and History lately. From Mythbusters to Storm Chasers, Planet Earth to NASA TV, there’s more science out there, readily accessible, than I ever remember in my childhood.

So, what’s your favorite mainstream (or not) science show? International folks, too — there’s got to be stuff abroad that’s just as great.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 December 2010 0741

    Wonders of the Solar System on the BBC has been fantastic! The guy who hosts is just so excited about it and it’s impossible not to catch on to it. It hasn’t been on BBC America yet, but hopefully they will soon!

  2. Trace permalink
    28 December 2010 1218

    Dude, Fight Science.

  3. 28 December 2010 1801

    i do believe dad taught chem or physics too before the AF…….

  4. 28 December 2010 1802

    oh, and check out “The Gunpowder plot” with Richard Hammond on youtube…trust me šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

