Skip to content

Dropping science, yo.

25 December 2010

Introducing a character is tough. I’m glad I mostly write novel-length stuff, because I have time to drop little pieces of character in over a relatively long period of time. That’s one of the reasons I’m not so comfortable with short stories — I feel like I never have time to flesh out my main characters enough.

When we did the 47 Echo short story collection, I had the great fortune to work with some very talented writers. All of the shorts were great, but there were two that did an awesome job with the characters (moreso than the others, anyway). Want a free clinic on how to make a character live in a small number of words? Here are lessons number one and two:

Lesson One: Civil Protection, by Lisa Kupfer

Lesson Two: My Name is No One, by Nate Hoppe.

If you haven’t read these stories, they not only feature excellent character development in a short space of time, they’re also great reads besides (and in the 47 Echo universe, so it’ll give you some idea of what to expect from the book. Also, both of them have clues to the sequel).

What’s the best, short-form character intro you’ve ever seen?

(Note: This blog posting was supposed to go up yesterday, December 24.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

