Skip to content

Black Friday

26 November 2010

Today, about 1:51 in the morning, I dropped my wife at the store where she’s a manager. This was before 2 a.m., mind you, and there were already easily more than 100 people lined up outside and more coming as I drove away. Turning the day after Thanksgiving into sort of a national shopping holiday. . . I mean, I get it, I just choose not to participate. I’ve got a bit of the writer hermit-ness going on, I suppose.

So instead, I decided that Black Friday is a writing holiday. Today, I decided, is a day for nothing but writing. It’s not like I don’t have plenty to work on.

And to that end, today’s writing has spurred — you guessed it — a question for you fine folks, writers and readers alike: What’s your secret lair like? For writers, the secret lair is the place you go to write. Solid, squared-away office space with a computer, a telephone on the desk, pictures of the family staring back at you? Or is it a large, comfortable chair with a stack of parchment, a quill, and an ink pot? (If it’s the latter, how does your time machine work?)

Mine has changed over the years. I used to convince myself I needed an office to write in, a solid place where I had a desk, an office chair, and a computer all set up. And snacks, snacks were very important. Nowadays, though, I just need a place to sit and a place to sit a tiny netbook, and sometimes I don’t even need that. I can write standing up with my Blackberry if I want. Freeing myself from an office has been great for me.

For readers, it’s the place you most prefer to read. In bed? On the couch surrounded by dogs (that’s mine, though the dogs aren’t necessarily by choice — sit down for a moment, and they’re on you)?

Paint me a word-picture, folks. What’s your work/reading environment like?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 November 2010 0948

    I really enjoy writing in coffee shops, but it’s not a deal-breaker if I can’t get to one. I’m just as likely to pull off the highway and scribble a few lines in a notebook if inspiration strikes during a road trip. I need to have coffee, or at least have it readily available. Tea is sometimes an acceptable substitute, but it depends on my mood. I like writing freehand, and I do use fountain pens. I like the inks available and it’s nice to know I’m not polluting the earth with my box-of-pens-a-week habit.

  2. 26 November 2010 1444

    anywhere, as long as i have a notebook and pen. Yes, I still write old-school. Which is why I need a receptionist, LMAO, i have about 100 notebooks full of things that need to be typed……

  3. 26 November 2010 2254

    See, I don’t use notebooks or pen and paper. Not because I don’t like them, but because when I get excited about writing something, my hand can’t keep up with my brain. I end up scrawling tons of unintelligible symbols that I can’t figure out later without a cryptographer. Typing is pretty much the only way that works for me. (My handwriting isn’t great in the best conditions, anyway.)

Leave a Reply

