Skip to content

It’s OK. You can judge by this one.

9 November 2010

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the cover for “47 Echo” from Carina press:

Copyright © 2010 by Harlequin Enterprises Limited Cover art used by arrangement with Harlequin Enterprises Limited © and TM are trademarks owned by Harlequin Enterprises Limited or its affiliated companies, used under license

I have to say, I love the hell out of this cover. I think the art team at Carina Press did an absolutely outstanding job with it.

So, a question for the gallery — how important is a good cover design to you when browsing for/buying books, either in the real world or online? I know the old adage says not to judge a book by its cover, but be honest — do you?

(Full disclosure: sometimes, I absolutely do.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 November 2010 0554

    Awesome cover, Shawn. The Carina team really seem to take the book and author onboard when designing. I love it. I definitely judge books by the cover IF I don’t know the author. If I already love the author the cover doesn’t mean a thing 🙂

  2. 9 November 2010 0558

    Yes, I do judge books by their covers. I have ever since I was a child. I guess as a child I noticed and learned that the books that didn’t posses an intriguing cover in the end turned out to be dull and a waste of my time. I don’t judge all books by their cover but most of them I do. I scan the books until a cover jumps out at me. I see what it is about and 90% of the time it turns out to be a great book.

  3. 9 November 2010 0727

    I definitely judge books by their covers. Haven’t read all of 47 Echo yet on your site, but from the cover the book looks epic.

    • 9 November 2010 0854

      Side note: Cover looks great as a background for an iPhone or iPod Touch.

      • 9 November 2010 0858

        Heh. Totally. It’s been my Blackberry background for about a month now. Vain? Yes. Awesome? Also yes.

  4. Trace permalink
    9 November 2010 0731

    Sometimes. OK, pretty much all the time. I’ve only bought a book with a crappy or boring cover a couple of times, and then only because friends recomended them to me.

  5. 9 November 2010 0900

    Yeah, I think the “don’t judge a book by its cover” saying must have come into vogue when books all had very similar covers — think old-school hardbacks that were either green or burgundy with the title and author in gold leaf on the front.

    Nowadays, a good cover is a complete necessity. Looking at mine and the other covers they’ve done, I’m extremely happy to be working with Carina Press. They’re just awesome.

  6. ShawnH permalink
    9 November 2010 1023

    When I hit a book store and look for new books, the cover art is a big factor in getting my attention. Good cover art makes me want to then pick up the book and see what its about. So far I’ve never been disappointed. I have been disappointed with books I got based solely on a recommendation that didn’t trigger my “cool cover art” interest.

  7. ShawnH permalink
    9 November 2010 1025

    Oh, I forgot to mention. This cover would definitely trigger my interest.

  8. 9 November 2010 1104

    It looks fantastic!

    Also, I’ve judged books by covers to both good and ill effects. I once bought a book because the gorgeous cover art made me NEED to know what the story was behind it, only to be intensely disappointed. Then again, I’ve been put off by some covers on what turned out to be fantastic books.

Leave a Reply

